Faculty News: Awards and Honors

May 16, 2019 — Talea Mayo, assistant professor, was one of nine chosen for the new Early Career Faculty Innovator Program at the National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR).

April 15, 2019 — Sudipta Seal, chair of the UCF Department of Materials Science and Engineering, will receive two international awards in the coming months for his contributions to materials research. He will receive the prestigious Materials Research Society Fellow award in April and the Lee Hsun Lecture award from the Chinese Academy of Sciences’ Institute of Metal Research in June.

April 3, 2019 — Arup Guha, associate instructor, received a Senior Coach Award from the International Collegiate Programming Competition (ICPC) for sending teams for helping UCF get to the ACM ICPC World Finals for 15 years.

April 3, 2019 — Pamela Wisniewski, assistant professor, received the UCF Reach for the Stars Award.

April 3, 2019 — Ni-Bin Chang, professor, received the College Award for Excellence in Research and the University Award for Excellence in Research Teaching from UCF.

April 3, 2019 — Yuanli Bai, assistant professor, received the College Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching from UCF.

April 3, 2019 — Lecturers Zakhia Abichar and Ricardo Zaurin received the College Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching from UCF.

April 1, 2019 — Ali Gordon, associate professor, received the inaugural UCF Champion of Undergraduate Research Award, which is designed to recognize faculty who are committed to fostering a culture of undergraduate research across the university.

March 28, 2019  Talea Mayo, assistant professor, was featured by the American Association for the Advancement of Science for her outreach work with a local church youth group.

March 25, 2019 — Alain Kassab, professor, was inducted into the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering’s College of Fellows.

March 17, 2019 — Pamela Wisniewski, assistant professor; her Ph.D. student Karla Badillo-Urquiola; and their coauthor Xinru Page received a Best Paper award (top 1% of all submissions) at the 2019 ACM CHI Conference on Human Factors in Computing Systems.

March 15, 2019  Laurene Tetard, assistant professor, received an NSF Career Award. She was awarded a total of $404,000 for five years by the chemistry division to develop an instrument for plasmonic-assisted nanomechanical detection for polarized spectroscopy and imaging.

March 14, 2019 — Mohamed Abdel-Aty, Pegasus Professor, received the Francis C. Turner Award for his outstanding leadership in the field of road safety nationally and internationally from the Transportation and Development Institute.

February 29, 2019 — Xiaofeng Feng, assistant professor, has been named a Sloan Research Fellow, the first for the University of Central Florida, and will receive a two-year $70,000 fellowship to further his research.

February 20, 2019Amro Awad, assistant professor, and Mingjie Lin, professor, were awarded a grant from DARPA/SPAWAR to investigate novel secure processor architectures. This three-year $1.12M project aims to explore efficient implementations of novel secure architectures through hardware prototyping.

February 12, 2019Tania Roy, assistant professor, received an NSF Career Award for her research on the development of artificial neurons and synapses. Her work aims to create systems that can emulate the capacity and speed of the human brain for pattern matching.

January 23, 2019 — Kareem Ahmed, assistant professor, was among the 2019 class of aerospace professionals and academics who were named American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics Associate Fellows.

January 20, 2019 Haitham Al-Deek, professor, and his research team won three best paper awards at the Transportation Research Board meeting. The papers were all related to his research on wrong-way driving.

2018 Faculty News: Awards and Honors

2017 Faculty News: Awards and Honors

2016 Faculty News: Awards and Honors

2015 Faculty News: Awards and Honors

2014 Faculty News: Awards and Honors

2013 Faculty News: Awards and Honors