Department of Mechanical & Aerospace
Department of Mechanical & Aerospace

Suryanarayana Challapalli
Suryanarayana Challapalli
Department Fax: (407)-823-0208
Full CV
Editorial and Reviewing Activities,
Lectures, Conferences and Seminars


Suryanarayana Challapalli BIOGRAPHY

Professor Suryanarayana Challapalli received his Ph.D. degree in Metallurgical Engineering from Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi, India, in 1970. He was a faculty member at the Banaras Hindu University rising to the rank of Professor and left for the United States in 1988 to work at the Wright-Patterson Air Force Base as a U.S. National Research Council Senior Research Associate. Subsequently, he spent a few years at the University of Idaho in Moscow and the Colorado School of Mines in Golden and joined the University of Central Florida (UCF) in 2001 as an Associate Professor. He became a Professor in 2004. Currently, he is the Interim Chair of the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering (MAE).

Professor Challapalli has a wide variety of research interests, including: Synthesis, Processing, and Characterization of Nanomaterials and Nanocomposites, Mechanical Alloying for the Synthesis of Advanced Materials, Rapid Solidification Processing of Metallic Materials and Metallic Glasses, Quasicrystalline Materials, Materials Characterization by X-ray Diffraction and Electron Microscopy Techniques, and Surface Coatings.

Professor Challapalli is the author of nine books, including the most recent Bulk Metallic Glasses (2011) and Experimental Techniques in Materials and Mechanics (2011), editor/co-editor of 12 Conference Proceedings, contributor to 19 Book Chapters, and author/co-author of over 240 research articles in archival journals, and over 100 articles in Conference Proceedings. For his research contributions to the field of non-equilibrium processing of materials, Professor Challapalli received a number of awards and distinctions. These include the Gold Medal of Banaras Hindu University, Pandya Memorial Silver Medal of the Indian Institute of Metals, Science Academy Medal for Young Scientists by the Indian National Science Academy, Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS) Fellowship, ASM-IIM Lectureship, National Metallurgists’ Day Award of the Government of India, Distinguished Alumnus Award of Banaras Hindu University, Lee Hsun Research Award of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, JSPS Invitation Fellowship Program for Research, UCF Teaching Incentive Program (TIP) Awards, MMAE Department Teacher of the Year Awards, and the Jefferson Science Fellowship of the U.S. National Academies to advise the U.S. Department of State in Washington, D.C.

Professor Challapalli is one of the most cited researchers in the field of Materials Science and Engineering with over 12,400 citations to his work and an h-index of 42. He was most recently selected by Thomson Reuters as one of the top 40 researchers in the field of materials science who achieved the highest citation impact scores for their papers published since January 2000.

Professor Challapalli has been a Visiting Professor at several overseas Universities including: Chungnam National University, Taejon, South Korea; Tohoku University, Sendai, Japan; National Institute for Materials Science, Tsukuba, Japan; King Fahd University of Petroleum & Minerals, Dhahran, Saudi Arabia: GKSS Research Center, Geesthacht, Germany; and Helmut-Schmidt University, Hamburg, Germany,

Professor Challapalli is a Fellow of ASM International and also of the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining in London, UK. He is a Member of TMS, a Life Member of the Materials Research Society of India, The Indian Institute of Metals, Electron Microscope Society of India, and The Indian Vacuum Society.

Professor Challapalli is currently a Member of the Editorial Boards of International Materials Reviews, Metallurgical and Materials Transactions A, Transactions of the Indian Institute of Metals, Nanoscience & Nanotechnology-ASIA, and Recent Patents in Materials Science. He was earlier a Member of the Joint Commission on Metallurgical and Materials Transactions; and Member of the Editorial Boards of Materials Science and Engineering A, Journal of Materials Engineering and Performance, Materials and Manufacturing Processes, and Journal of Metastable and Nanocrystalline Materials. He has also served/serving on the Nanomaterials Task Force of ASM International, TMS Powder Materials Committee, TMS Titanium Committee, and the ASM International Materials Synthesis and Processing Committee, ASM New Products and Services Committee, among others.

University of Central Florida