Michael Georgiopoulos, CECS interim dean, left, stands with CECS Alumni Chapter Scholarship recipients Prabhjot Ahluwalia and Katherine Duffy, and CECS Alumni Chapter Scholarship representatives Allen Lane and Dan Bergondy.

Only 16 researchers in the nation received prestigious 2013 Young Investigator Awards from the Office of Naval Research, and Jennifer Pazour, from the UCF College of Engineering and Computer Science (CECS), was one of them.

At the 2013 CECS Scholarships Reception on April 2, donors met the scholars they helped, and the students had the opportunity to thank the donors in person.

“For donors, meeting the actual student recipient enhances the experience and satisfaction of making a donation. And the students benefit from meeting the donors, people who care and are making a difference in their lives. It’s truly an enriching experience for both,” said Michael Georgiopoulos, CECS interim dean.

This year, $183,500 was raised to benefit 114 CECS student recipients.

“When the students graduate and enter the professional world, our hope is that they’ll remember the people who helped them and be inspired to stay connected to CECS and give back in some way,” Dr. Georgiopoulos said.

See a photo gallery from the 2013 CECS Scholarships Reception here.

Below are the 2013 CECS Scholarships and Recipients:

ASCE East Central Branch Scholarship
Travis Henriques
Brett Hostutler

ASCE Water Resources Technical Group Scholarship
Karim Alizad
Kaitlyn Jeanis
Enrique Lairet-Nunez

CECS Alumni Chapter ASHRAE Scholarship
John Attwood
Bailey Estes
Megan Pence
Wilson Perez
Colton Schniepp

AT&T Wireless Endowed Scholarship
Irina Bouzina
Nicholas Dijkhoffz
Daniel Franco
Kelly Ice
Fatemeh Yazdiananari

Austin L. Grogan Memorial Scholarship
Hossein Rastgoftar

Boeing Scholarship
Thomas Anzelone
John Attwood
Nathan Beals
Christopher Deleuze
Jonell Gregor
Leonardo Hanon
Forrest Hardy
Richard Horta
Christine Panaggio
Nicole Ramirez
Margot Tejera
Drew Thomas
Cassandra Todd
Alan Wright
Nancy Zanaty

BBM & Assoc. Engineers Scholarship
Adam Warga

CAE USA Inc. Scholarship
David Alberts
Uyen Nguyen

Daniel D. Hammond Engineering Endowed Scholarship
James Choi
Jorge Guerra Marin
Brian Millikan
Wesley Mullins
Nicholas Paperno
Benjamin Truckenbrod

David T. & Jane M. Donaldson Memorial Scholarship
Reza Akhavian
Yu Bi
Hossein Rastgoftar
Talayeh Razzaghi
Sana Siddiqui
Deli Zhang

David R. Jenkins Memorial Endowed Scholarship
Brett Hostutler
Mariana Simmonds

Dr. Adedji B. Badiru Scholarship
Bianca Garcia

DRMP Scholarship
Sanaz Imen
Rebecca Wight

Engineering and Computer Science Alumni Chapter Scholarship
Prabhjot Ahluwalia
Katherine Duffy
Steven Kuba
Joseph Nichols
Gillian Smith

Environmental Engineering Founders
Carlyn Higgins

FES Community College Scholarship
Evelise Teixeira

FES Junior/Senior Scholarship
Luisa Velez

Frank Hubbard Engineering Endowed Scholarship
Kevin Aranda
Ivette Carreras
Kyle Davidson
Oloruntomi Joledo
Adam Phillips
Ruben Villegas
Michael Winz
Amin Zeiaee

FWEA Central Florida Chapter Scholarship
Mason Gardberg

Geotechnical and Environmental Endowed Scholarship
Armando Perez

Gerald R. Langston Endowed Scholarship
Ly Nguyen
Saeed Hadian Niasar
Wilson Perez

Gerry & Ruth Hartman Scholarship
Stephanie Bolyard

Harvey L. Gaines Memorial Expressway Authority Endowed Scholarship
Anne Marie Pereira

HDR/Facers Scholarship
Katrina Carroll

Jack Jennings Endowed Scholarship
Adam Warga

Kamal Marchi/Arab American Community Center Endowed Scholarship
Majdouline Ben-Hadda

Kenneth E. Keifer Scholarship
Benjamin VanLuven

Marty Wanielista Endowed Scholarship
Tyler Pierce

Neel- Schaffer Scholarship
Angela Rodriguez

Professor James K. Beck Scholarship
Kimberly Cranmore

Progress Energy Scholarship
Caleb Amy
Benjamin Goolsby
Richard Murdock
Spencer Paul
Carly Rumps
Daljit Sandhu
Colton Schniepp
David Steury
Peter Thorn
Elizabeth Vargas

Society for Information Management (SIM) Scholarship
Matt Cain
Chris Mayhew
Bryan Wilder
Josiah Wong

Solid Waste Management Scholarship
Stephanie Bolyard

The Yousef A. Yousef Endowed Scholarship
Sanaz Imen

Walt Disney World Co. Design & Engineering Scholarship
Reniel Viel
Dominique Benito
Katherine Duffy
Muhtasim Jayeed
Shawn Mahon
Victor Miley
Matthew Pascuicco

WateReuse Scholarship
Paige Hovenga

Whalen Family Trust Scholarship
Edwin Hernandez

William Palm Family Scholarship
Taylor Laurent

— CECS —